College Suspends Student For Refusing To Stomp On ‘Jesus’

200812151242003_about

A Florida Atlantic University student said he was punished after he refused a professor’s instructions to stomp on a piece of paper with the word “Jesus” written on it. The university, meanwhile, is defending the assignment as a “lesson in debate.” Welcome back to Crazy Town.

Guess what else? The professor, it turns out, is also a top official in the local Democratic Party.

Shocked? Me neither.

“I’m not going to be sitting in a class having my religious rights desecrated,” student Ryan Rotela told television station WPEC. “I truly see this as I’m being punished.”

Rotela, who is a devout Mormon, said the instructor in his Intercultural Communications class told the students to write the name “Jesus” on a sheet of paper. Then, they were told to put the paper on the floor. The student told the professor, Deandre Poole, that the assignment was insulting and offensive.

“He had us all stand up and he said ‘Stomp on it,’” Rotela said. “I picked up the paper from the floor and put it right back on the table.”

“I said to the professor, ‘With all due respect to your authority as a professor, I do not believe what you told us to do was appropriate,’” he said. ‘I believe it was unprofessional and I was deeply offended by what you told me to do.’”

Rotela took his concerns to Poole’s supervisor – where he was promptly suspended from the class.

The gutless Poole did not return calls asking for comment. While the university also refused to comment on Rotela’s case, citing “student privacy laws,” it did find time to defend the professor’s assignment to stomp on the name of Jesus:

“As with any academic lesson, the exercise was meant to encourage students to view issues from many perspectives, in direct relation with the course objectives,” said Noemi Marin, the university’s director of the school of communication and multimedia studies. “While at times the topics discussed may be sensitive, a university environment is a venue for such dialogue and debate.”

Fox News obtained a synopsis of the lesson that got Rotela in trouble:

“Have the students write the name JESUS in big letters on a piece of paper. Ask the students to stand up and put the paper on the floor in front of them with the name facing up. Ask the students to think about it for a moment. After a brief period of silence instruct them to step on the paper. Most will hesitate. Ask why they can’t step on the paper. Discuss the importance of symbols in culture.”

Of course, being the good leftist that he is, Poole took his little lesson plan a step further by demanding that students not only step on the paper – but that they stomp on it.

Paul Kengor, the executive director of the Center for Vision and Values at Grove City College, told Fox News he’s not surprised by the classroom lesson.

“These are the new secular disciples of ‘diversity’ and ‘tolerance’ – empty buzzwords that make liberals and progressives feel good while they often refuse to tolerate and sometimes even assault traditional Christian and conservative beliefs,” he said.

Kengor said classes like the one at Florida Atlantic University demonstrate the contempt that many public institutions hold for people of faith:

“It also reflects the rising confidence and aggression of the new secularists and atheists, especially at our sick and surreal modern universities.”

This is but another effort by secular “progressives” to chip away at not only Christianity – but at the morals and values of freedom and liberty as well. While these “freedom from religion” hypocrites get their collective panties in a wad at the mere mention of God in public schools, they have no problem exploiting Christianity for left-wing ideological purposes. In fact, I bet they relish doing so.

I wonder if the next lesson plan calls for students to step on an image of Muhammad? Or Buddha? Or O?

Not a chance.

Categories: Attack on Christianity, Liberal Fascism, Liberals Gone Wild

Tags: , , ,

64 replies

  1. Let us see, in the name of ‘diversity’ then do this with the name ‘Mohammed’. What’s that you say, they’d be too scared to do that? You bet!

    • Absolutely, Jess. The “Freedom from Religion” crowd should just be honest and be rename themselves “Freedom from Christianity.”

      These disingenuous hypocrites pick on Christians “because they can.” As you said, they’re way too cowardly to go after the Muslims.

      • Yes – a yellow streak a mile wide and a mile deep :)

        • Jess, Neo & Rat: You are all correct! To further fan the flames, did ya’ll know the college professor in question is also (prepare yourselves) a Democrat Party official in FL? How many of these “Progressive” types reserve their scorn & contempt for ALL faiths, not just targeting Christianity, because it’s a soft target, but also excoriating & condemning Buddhism, Shinto, Judaism, pantotheism, animism, fetishism, etc? I’ll wait patiently for them to answer . . .

  2. Yep, and if they did do this with Mohammed, Buddha, even O, as well, it would be a semi-valid exercise for, I don’t know 4th grade or so.

    • No kidding. The transparency is hysterical.

      • Yeah, these fools are hysterical, even more so since they take themselves so seriously. Sedulous fools, at best.

        • And, their hypocrisy knows no bounds. They whine about “tolerance” and “diversity” (all for the purpose of locking down votes, of course) – yet they are anything but tolerant of those they oppose – especially when it when it comes to Christians.

          • And that pretty much says it all. Tolerant of anything, except the one religion that has made their society so good. Hypocrisy barely covers it.

          • Neo & Rat: Yes, they absolutely despise the one Faith on which the values, beliefs & tenets of this nation are premised. Absolutely astounds me that they claim to ‘love America’ while demonizing everything that allowed America to become the nation we now live in–although not for long, if the Left continues to ‘win’ elections.

  3. Poole is a pussy, and realizes that he can target whites, and Christians with this type of crap, and not have to worry. He does not have the stones to use Mo’s mug, or name. Why? Because to their credit, Muslims will kick ass and not worry about anything.

    If I were in his class, I would have dropped him where he stood. I actually called out one of my profs in college because 8 out of 10 students were failing the course because he refused to teach the material. He instead would have the white board loaded with the information, and it was up to the students to figure it out. And this was a 4th year level accounting/finance class! And he was a grad student too boot!. Should have seen his face when I asked him if a good ass kicking would help him change is teaching style! He went straight to the dept chair, and of course, I denied everything and I informed the chair of the fact that so many students were failing. They closed the course down, and refunded our money for the session. Homie avoided me like the plague. Nowdays, I would be arrested for being a domestic terrorist!

    • Yes you would. Besides, you obviously fit the profile that the LA Times is so worried about, ‘billy. Better be careful; Eric “My People” Holder will be knocking at your door. ;-)

      • Ratsy, if you notice most of this crap goes down in “certain” types of majors. I was in the business department my first go round. My second department was English/Lit. The old time prof’s loved me because they would get and honest response to questions, and I asked questions from a view point that was far right of 99% of the students. It was great for class discussions.

        • Yep. I started out as a journalism major – but when I quickly realized the professors were pretty much communist – I switched to business and never looked back.

          • I have told this story a lot. In my Senior English Seminar class, we were discussing Women’s sufferage in the 1850’s. Dr Ruebens asked my take on why they were often treated with such hostility from many men, and some women. I responded “because they were just not that good looking.” I had every broad in the class, and pencil necked dude in a tizzy over the comment. Thing is, I had done my home work and knew that this was the thought of the day, and I never said I supported this view. The prof loved it, and told the class to be more ” tolerant of his “favorite” right winger!

          • According to a friend of mine, the great foreign affairs scholar George Kennan once opined that giving women the vote was the move that started the country downhill. I’m sure he wouldn’t have wanted to be quoted in later years.

          • Yeah, probably not so much.

  4. Only the Name of Jesus would be treated this way, at least at this time. It’s really sickening. There is no way in which I would do this. It’s absolutely de-sensitization and a driving away of the morals, values and any faith a young person may have. I went to a CollegePlus.org conference a few months ago. There I learned that 70% of all kids who go to College with faith, lose it! 70%! They also learn there are no absolutes, no right or wrong and other leftist ideology.

    • They’re also often ridiculed and persecuted while they’re there.

      • There are very strong civil rights laws now and I’m wondering whether this incident, as it went down, might not be prosecuted as a violation of some sort. Failing that a civil suit might be possible. Historically, conservatives tend to be too easy to kick around. Witnesses could be summoned. Also, members of the local Democratic Party where Poole is Vice Chairman should be pestered into makin a statement one way or another on Poole’s fitness. Get them down on record.

        • You can bet that had the student been Muslim and the piece of paper had “Muhammad” written on it, that exactly what would happen. I’m sure the liberal media would see to it.

  5. Contact the university with a complaint about Deandre Poole and the students suspension for acting on his personal faith beliefs! Thank you

    http://www.fau.edu/explore/contact.php
    llsboca@fau.edu
    nmarin@fau.edu
    Dean of Students 561-297-3542

    FAU Main Number 561.297.3000

    CAMPUSES AND LOCATIONS
    Boca Raton 561.297.3000
    Davie 954.236.1000
    Dania Beach 954.924.7223
    Fort Lauderdale 954.236.1000
    Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute 772.465.2400
    Jupiter 561.799.8500
    Treasure Coast 772.873.3300

  6. This prof should be horse whipped!

    • Maybe horse ripped? One leg tied to horse heading north, one tied to horse heading south. Horses whipped to gitty up go. I would be compassionate and let him cross his legs first. And constitutional as well, no double jeopardy, he would never be tried again. :)

      • I would agree with that Unit. Only, if you’re going to horse rip, then do it properly. You need four horses for all four limbs. Crossing his legs wouldn’t help one little bit!

  7. While I am atheist I also don’t believe in forcing anyone to believe what I do and visa versa. So to this professor I would have given him a kick in the shorts. Being a Democrat has little to do with his short sightedness and extreme prejudice for his take on religion. This isn’t a school project nor is it an acting class – the student did not have to do what the teacher asked because it was against his principals. I agree and I am a progressive Democrat and an Atheist.

    • Your comment is refreshing – given that attacks I’m used to getting from your fellow atheists.

      While you’re correct that Democrats don’t necessarily have the market cornered on short-sightedness, surely you’re not saying that far more atheists don’t exist on the far-left than on the right, are you?

      • On the contrary the far right are ridiculously religious without any common decency or sense and I’m writing that based upon the “malarky” of the past 13 years from conservatives, GOP and Tea Party pushers.

        • I knew if you talked enough, you’d fall right into the predictable mold of the typical “progressive,” which is a ridiculous descriptor for a group that preaches tolerance – yet has none of it whatsoever for those who oppose them and for those they oppose. (See: conservative blacks.)

        • bonju, I take offense to you saying the far right are “ridiculously religious without any common decency or sense” I am ultra conservative and I am a devout Christian. I DO have decency and I have a lot of common sense. I wouldn’t be where I am in life today, if I didn’t. My question to you is: Who are you to judge me?

          • Not only do the trolls judge at will, Lazy L, but they’re also fond of making ridiculous sweeping statements with no basis in fact. They thrive on getting under the skin of conservatives. Kinda like scab-pickets, they are.

          • And you were polite to the ass too Rat! Then he had to go and spoil the illusion! :-) Oh well, it was only an illusion of a tolerant progressive libtard! LOL

          • It’s what they do, Lazy L. If he posts another vile comment – I’ll block him.

          • Comment deleted by Rat due to vile language.

          • Comment deleted by Rat due to vile language.

          • Oh poor puppy resorts to being rude, when you don’t have an intelligent thing to say. Rude and offensive. I am not talking to you any more. It’s a waste of my time. Have a good day and goodbye.

          • Oh! I love it! Rat has the power over poor puppy bonju. You may wind up blocking him Rat, he just can’t help himself. LOL

          • They show their true colors most of the time if you give them enough rope. Poor little guy couldn’t keep from swearing. He’s toast.

  8. My rational here is – where do our right begin and end? Whose rights are to be expected? The teacher or the student or both?

    • How is possibly the “right” of a professor to direct students to stomp on “Jesus” – or Mickey Mouse, for that matter?

      • Remember what my wifey said Dr. Phil said…dangerous now to give anyone benefit of the doubt. I know you like debate, but here’s my take…With the openess of a Rat Trap, all comments are welcome to a point. But I would say this to Bonju…My only response is…I expect your comments will be ignored here. Visited your site, article after article, first page and older posts, no comments, no likes. Go answer those. Should be easy for one with any rational. No need for me to think here, just use my spittoon my great uncle left me.

  9. I think it is wrong to just call them fools – we are on dangerous ground showing so much “tolerance”. Our tolerance is our undoing – look around……

    • I totally agree with you Anonymous! We are expected to be tolerant. However, when we are tolerant, they (Those that tell us we must be tolerant.) walk all over us. I say STAND UP FOR WHAT YOU BELIEVE!” Don’t be shy about it, speak your mind.

  10. Its classes like this which are the reason the US is leading the world in engineering, manufacturing, health care, and the like. Oh, wait…

  11. Comment deleted by Rat due to vile language. Troll banned.

  12. Example of why most mainstream Christian denominations do not consider Mormons to be Christians. Mormonism quest for salvation is to be God-like which is blasphemy for most Christians. Salvation is to live Christ-like. I would have presented the debate topic lesson differently. The case should be about a person that hypothetically did this not needing the theatrical performance.

    • I hear what you’re saying Carl, but the fact that the student is a Mormon is not really relevant to the story. While many Christians don’t consider Mormons to be Christians, Mormons do, in fact, believe that Jesus Christ is the salvation.

      The lesson play could have just as easily been opposed by a Baptist, Methodist or Catholic – and the story would have been the same.

      Good to see you again; stop back by!

  13. Did the offended student receive apology and re-instatement into classes?
    In not, was a reason given?

Trackbacks

  1. Truth Is, If I’d Been There « Resting in His Grace
  2. Student who refused to Stomp on Jesus has gone viral | http://www.jankollitz.comhttp://www.jankollitz.com

What's Your Take?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,405 other followers

